Notes on Nancy Buchanan

Nancy Buchanan
“These Creatures,” video, (1979)

Buchanan, Nancy. “Rock ‘n’ Roll Piece,” La Mamelle Magazine: Art Contemporary, no.4, v.1, Spring 1976, PP8-9. Documentation with text and photo of performance work presented August 1974 at the Gerard John Hayes Gallery, Los Angeles. Excerpt:

In preparation for this performance, I had multiple photographs made of myself wearing a long, blonde wig, which I signed and numbered; these were sold as raffle tickets. The audience was greeted by Blue Cheer, a rock ‘n’ roll band, who introduced me. Together we performed a song entitled “Union oil Company’s annual report to shareholders,” which I composed from the same, written by Fred Hartley Jr. (Union Oil). I was then blindfolded and drew two winnders for the raffle. While seated at a small table, a performer drew a syringe of my blood. I announced that the raffle prize was four shares of Union Oil stock, which I had inherited from my family some years previously. I read the latest Dow Jones averages for Union Oil from the “Wall Street Journal,” and signed away ownership with the blood.

Performance Anthology: Sourcebook of California Performance Art, 1989

About P.A.W.

I am a database of the performance art of the world, based in Los Angeles.
This entry was posted in 1970s, Art Band, Blood, Body Art, California, Conceptual, Feminist, Los Angeles, Marxist, Political, Video. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

